Renal Supportive Care

Renal Supportive Care (RSC) involves an interdisciplinary approach that integrates the skills of renal medicine and palliative care to help patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD) and end stage kidney disease (ESKD) to live as well as possible by better managing their symptoms and supporting them in living with advanced disease. It is a program that is embedded in usual renal care. It also encompasses advance care planning and end-of-life care.

Core Documents

Key principles of RSC model

The key principles of RSC are that:

Key features of RSC model

Key features of the NSW RSC model:

Current NSW model

In NSW there are three hubs that provide networked support:

  1. St George Hospital supports
    • SLHD: Concord, Royal Prince Alfred Hospitals
    • SESLHD: St George, Sutherland and Prince of Wales Hospitals
    • ISLHD: Wollongong Hospital
    • NSLHD: Royal North Shore Hospital
    • WNSWLHD: Dubbo Base, Orange Base Hospitals
    • FWLHD: Broken Hill Hospital
    • SVHN: St Vincent’s Hospital
  2. Nepean Hospital suports
    • WSLHD: Auburn, Blacktown and Westmead Hospitals (part of the Western Renal Network)
    • NBMLHD: Nepean Hospital (part of the Western Renal Network)
    • SWSLHD: Bankstown, Bowral, Campbelltown, Fairfield and Liverpool Hospitals
    • MLHD: Griffith and Wagga Wagga Base Hospitals
    • SNSWLHD: Bega, Cooma, Goulburn, Moruya and Queanbeyan Hospitals
  3. John Hunter Hospital supports
    • CCLHD: Gosford Hospital
    • NNSWLHD: Lismore and The Tweed Hospitals
    • MNCLHD: Port Macquarie, Kempsey and Coffs Harbour Hospitals
    • HNELHD: John Hunter, Tamworth and Taree Hospitals

ACI support model

Last updated: 23 Jun 2021

On this page...


Annie Hutton
Network Manager, ACI Renal Network
02 9464 4646